Established in 1993


The department runs B. Sc. (Physics) graduate course and M. Sc. (Physics) post graduate course.
The Department of Physics started in 1993 with the outset of science faculty in the college. The department has six qualified staff members, well equipped laboratories, non-teaching staff and well set departmental library facility. The department runs B. Sc. (Physics) graduate course and M. Sc. (Physics) post graduate course. The department has produced about 500 Physics graduates in last 23 years. The department has history of very good results of about 80 to 90 % every year. About 60 to 70 % students get admissions for various branches of post graduation. Many of our students have been well placed in research, academics and other areas. The department has recently started the post graduation in Physics in 2012-2013 with intake capacity of 24 students. At present total strength of the under graduate and post graduate students is about 175. The department regularly organizes various activities for the students which includes poster competition, project exhibition, seminars, workshops, guest lectures, demonstrations, visits and study tours to various National and International research Institutions, power projects. During last few years, the department has conducted the visits and study tours for the students to the following places:Hydro-power project, Koyana. ,Dabhol power project, Ratnagiri, Bhatghar hydro-power project, Giant Meterwave Radio Telescope (GMRT), Narayangaon, Nehru Science Centre, Mumbai, Wind power project of MEDA, Satara, Inter University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune, School of Energy Studies, University of Pune, National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune, Modern Energy Park, Wadgaon etc.Nucleonix Systems, Access Solar Pvt. Ltd., JNTU, Hyderabad. Recently, the department has organized following two seminars: State level seminar on Innovative research projects for teachers and students., University level convention/seminar on student career development: opportunities and challenges., In addition to these, department has also organized two workshops on University syllabus restructuring.

Class Strength

Year 2016-2017
S.Y.B.Sc Boys 20 Girls 28 Total 48
Total 48
Year 2015-2016
F.Y.B.Sc Boys 43 Girls 43 Total 86
S.Y.B.Sc Boys 15 Girls 11 Total 26
T.Y.B.Sc Boys 07 Girls 09 Total 15
Total 127 Year 2014-2015
F.Y.B.Sc Boys 43 Girls 40 Total 83
S.Y.B.Sc Boys 18 Girls 20 Total 38
T.Y.B.Sc Boys 10 Girls 12 Total 22
Total 143 Year 2013-2014
F.Y.B.Sc Boys 51 Girls 40 Total 91
S.Y.B.Sc Boys 11 Girls 15 Total 26
T.Y.B.Sc Boys 13 Girls 17 Total 40
Total 157 Year 2012-2013
F.Y.B.Sc Boys 43 Girls 40 Total 83
S.Y.B.Sc Boys 09 Girls 23 Total 32
T.Y.B.Sc Boys 12 Girls 10 Total 22
Total 137

Student Achievers

Year 2015-2016
Ansari Suleman
Wadghule Shubhangi
Pardeshi Kiran

Year 2014-2015
Palande Pratiksha V.
Shah Dipika G.
More Shweta
Year 2013-2014
Durugkar Trupti M.
Bhujbal Pankaj K.
Ghadi Sampada S. Year 2012-2013
Wable Sujata N.
Saw Mana R.
Aher Gayatri B.


- Guest Lecture on Recent Trends in Renewable Energy Technology by Prof. S. K. Shukla, IIT- B.H.U., Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. - Guest Lecture on Application of Physics in Forensic Investigation by Prof. N. N. Fatangare, Department of Forensic Division, Nashik - A Guest Lecture on “Research Opportunities in Science” for M.Sc. part-I, part-II on 29th October, 2013By Prof. Pandit B. Vidyasagar Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, S. R. T. M. University, Nanded. - Participation of B. Sc. and M.Sc. students in “National Conference of Sustainable Energy Development and Environment Systems” - Students participation in Avishkar Research Competition. - Participation of M.Sc. students in IPA’s Post-Graduate Power Point Competition.


Year 2015-2016
F.Y.B.Sc - 86.49%
S.Y.B.Sc - 90.03%
T.Y.B.Sc - 100%

Year 2014-2015
F.Y.B.Sc - 68.76%
S.Y.B.Sc - 89.46%
T.Y.B.Sc - 100%
Year 2013-2014
F.Y.B.Sc - 70.13%
S.Y.B.Sc - 85.45%
T.Y.B.Sc - 67.85% Year 2012-2013
F.Y.B.Sc - 55.66%
S.Y.B.Sc - 86%
T.Y.B.Sc - 77.27%

Tie Ups

- Department of Physics, SPPU. - School of Energy Studies, SPPU - C-MET, Pune - National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune. - Indian Meteorological Department (IMD), Pune. - Vidya Pratishthans Arts, Science & Commerce College, Baramati. - C. T. Bora College, Shirur. - Dept. of Biotechnology, Modern College, Shivajinagar, Pune


- Renewable Energy

- Nuclear Physics

- Biophysics

- Material Science

- Plasma Physics


- To develop a research laboratory for M. Phil and Ph.D. students

- To write minor/major research projects to different funding agencies

- To create a platform for graduate and postgraduate students for placements in research and industry

- To strengthen the Alumni association of the Department

- To establish the departmental students help funds